HTS - Background-We Band of Angels.png

We Band of Angels:

The Untold Story of American Women

Trapped on Bataan

with Elizabeth M. Norman

LIVE on ZOOM

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

9:00am HST | 12 noon PT | 2:00pm CT  | 3:00pm ET

 

About this talk

Join us for another exciting talk featuring Elizabeth M. Norman who will share the untold story of American Women Trapped on Bataan. She will tell the story of seventy-seven Army and Navy nurses, who were the largest group of American female POWs in our country’s history, beginning in 1941 and ending in 2012.   

About Elizabeth M. Norman

Elizabeth M. Norman PhD, RN is a Professor at New York University’s Steinhardt School of Culture, Development and Education. She is the author of three books:  Women at War: the Story of Fifty Military Nurses Who Served in Vietnam (1990) (University of Pennsylvania Press), We Band of Angels: The Untold Story of American Nurses Trapped on Bataan by the Japanese (2013) (Random House), and a co-author with Michael Norman of Tears in the Darkness: The Story of the Bataan Death March and Its Aftermath (2009).

 

Her awards include an official commendation from the U.S. Department of the Army, and New York Times book critic Dwight Garner’s top ten non-fiction books of 2009.  She is the daughter of two World War II veterans—her father 2nd Lt John Dempsey served in Patton’s 2nd Armored Division in 
Europe; her mother Boatswain Mate 1st Class Dorothy Riley served as a U.S. Coast Guard SPAR. Her husband Sgt. Michael Norman served as a combat radioman with the USMC in Vietnam, 1968. 

 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo

Proud partner of the National Park Service

© 2020 Pacific Historic Parks. All Rights Reserved. | State Disclosures
P
acific Historic Parks is a 501(c)(3) Non-profit Organization, Tax ID 99-0194501